Skúli Sverrisson (born 23 October 1966) is an Icelandic composer and bass guitarist. He has worked with musicians Wadada Leo Smith, Derek Bailey, Lou Reed, Jon Hassel, David Sylvian, Arto Lindsay, and composers Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jóhann Jóhannsson, and Hildur Guðnadóttir. He is known for his work as artistic director for Ólöf Arnalds, recordings with Blonde Redhead, and as musical director for Laurie Anderson. Sverrisson released duo albums with Anthony Burr, Oskar Gudjonsson, and Hilmar Jensson. He has been a member of Pachora, Alas No Axis, the Allan Holdsworth group, and the Ben Monder group. His solo works include Seremonie in 1997 and Sería in 2006. Seria was chosen Best Album of the Year by the Icelandic Music Awards. Sverrisson plays dobro, double bass, and charango, in addition to bass guitar. He has composed music for the Icelandic Dance Company (Open Source), the National Theatre of Iceland (Volva), and films and installations such as Welcome and Music for Furniture with Olafur Thordason, Spatial Meditation with Claudia Hill, and When it was Blue with filmmaker Jennifer Reeves. Sverrisson founded Seria, an ensemble featuring Amedeo Pace, Ólöf Arnalds, David Thor Jonsson, Anthony Burr, Eyvind Kang, and Hildur Guðnadóttir in 2005. He released Seria in 2006 and Seria ll in 2010. Sverrisson has won five Icelandic Music Awards, including Icelandic Album of the Year for Seria in 2006. He has appeared on over one hundred recordings and has performed with Hildur Guðnadóttir, Hilmar Jensson, Jim Black, Chris Speed, Anthony Burr, Laurie Anderson, Allan Holdsworth, Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Sylvian, Blonde Redhead, Yungchen Lhamo, Jamshied Sharifi, Ólöf Arnalds, Pachora, and Alas No Axis. He was a part of Mo Boma with Jamshied Sharifi and Carsten Tiedemann, releasing four albums on Extreme; "Jijimuge", "Myths of the Near Future - Part One", "Myths of the Near Future - Part Two" and "Myths of the Near Future - Part Three".

FAVORITE (0 fans)

Albums by Skúli SverrissonSort:By AlbumA - Z